The Honeymoon Phase

Just half a week on Weight Watchers and I’m already learning some things. Or perhaps it’s not learning so much, as I already knew these things. But my awareness is raised. My desire to be healthy is raised. In turn, I am making better choices. I cannot wait for an excellent weigh-in on Saturday!

 

~ I have discovered that I eat entirely too much cheese and nuts. Even though they’re healthy, I eat too many of them.

~ I have learned that I sleep better when I go to bed without a full stomach.

~ I have learned that I can enjoy my favorite foods and still lose weight.

 

Cutting out things like breads, crackers, all extra sugar…it works. I lost 13 pounds in one month by doing this. I felt great! But it seems this isn’t good for me in the long run. I have done nothing but yo-yo for the past few years. Apparently following my “no bread” plan leaves me feeling deprived. I fight it and fight it, until one day I totally binge. And a lot of times those binges turn into days or weeks of unhealthy eating.

I don’t eat as many breads as I used to, so it’s not all bad. The past year I just haven’t cared enough to watch what I eat. Now that I’m serious about it, it’s easier to avoid the breads. I just need to figure out how to allow myself to have them occasionally, without going overboard.

These past few days have been GREAT! I feel like I’m in the honeymoon phase and I know this won’t always be easy, but so far I am completely on track! I am going to enjoy this while it lasts.

I think part of the reason this has been easy is because I have worked to clean up my diet the past few years. Eating healthier has become a habit. I just need to learn how to avoid bingeing. I need to learn how to allow those indulgences – within my points – when I feel I need them.

Work is getting CRAZY but I’m just not motivated to work. I will pay for that in October.

2 thoughts on “The Honeymoon Phase

Leave a Reply

