I made a commitment

I have been married for almost 10 years. Before I got married, I lost 43 pounds by following the Weight Watchers plan by myself at home. I felt amazing! I still had about 20 pounds to lose, but I felt great! I had kept it off for a few years too.

Just Married! Oct 23, 2004

Just Married! Oct 23, 2004

We went to Hawaii on our honeymoon. I gained 7 pounds. Then I gained 50 pounds with each of my three pregnancies. I didn’t lose all the weight from any of them, and my last one I lost maybe 4 pounds.

A few years ago, I decided I was going to lose weight. On my own. Again. I’ve had some success. I’ve lost a bit, some months were great. But then I’d put it back on. I’m tired of the yo-yoing. I’m tired of very little progress. I’m tired of having no energy.

After thinking about it all week, and basically hitting rock bottom, I joined Weight Watchers. My first meeting was yesterday and I weighed in at 271.4, only 12 pounds down from my heaviest. Now I know their scale is probably a bit heavier than mine, just because I went after breakfast, but I will use their number for now.

I will show the “before” pictures I took yesterday at some point. I don’t feel ready yet. Here is another picture of me at my heaviest…not a great picture, but I think it’s obvious how much heavier I am that in my wedding picture.

Jan1-2013

Jan1-2013

I love online tools and support groups, but I need that personal support. I don’t have the kind of support I need at home, and this group of women I found seems great. I hope I can always make that day/time work.

I didn’t want to spend the money. Things are TIGHT for us. But I’m working my tail off couponing, and I probably save the monthly membership in one week of couponing. I deserve it. I need it. I need and want to do something positive for myself.

The moment I decided to join WW, I felt a weight lift from my shoulders. It feels like the right decision, at the right time. I can hardly weight to go next week!

6 thoughts on “I made a commitment

  1. I had the opportunity to see a dietitian because my weight was giving me health problems. She told me about MyFitnessPal.com. It’s a food logging website (available on phones too but I don’t have a smart phone). I ended up losing about 30 lbs in about a year. I’d still like to lose about 10-15 lbs. It was a nice way to see what my calories were coming from and I could easily plan meals with it. I still used it periodically if I make a new recipe and to give myself a check if I start gaining again.

  2. I just discovered your blog. I am going to follow it. I am also on Weight Watchers, and have lost 84 pounds since March1, 2014. I don’t have to tell you because you already know you can do it!

    I encourage you to keep up your blog, and to read about others of us who are on the journey with you. There are a lot of us!

    Looking forward to hearing about your success.

Leave a Reply

