Fricking Fracking Stress!

I don’t keep up on anything anymore. I have many half-finished projects. I always have excuses why I can take “just tonight” off and relax. Tomorrow I’ll get something done. Tomorrow I have the same excuses. It’s like my dad always says, tomorrow never gets here!

I know if I keep myself moving, I get more done. When I get more done, I FEEL better. I sleep better. I wake up in a better mood and don’t feel defeated right out of the gate. It’s a no-brainer, really. And yet I continue with the excuses.

I have no idea what my weight is right now. I definitely feel fuller in my stomach. I know that’s primarily because I snack too much in the evenings. Marcus is eating better these days, which helps, but it hasn’t stopped me from snacking. A lot of times I eat nuts and raisins, which is great, but I know I eat too much of them. And I shouldn’t be eating more than that at night. The extras need to stop.

Work is getting crazy and I’m just not motivated to do it! I am so completely exhausted by the end of October each year…it’s tough to make myself work extra right now. But I have to or it’ll be even worse later. I feel the “stress ball” in my stomach growing. I’ve learned this is where I store my stress. I’ve also learned that running helps. When I run, I can literally feel the stress leaving my body. So why don’t I get back to running?? On the one hand, I know if I take time to run, I will feel better and probably be more productive. On the other hand, I feel like I just have too much to do to take time off. And yet here I am blogging. Hmm…

Right now isn’t the best time to go all gung ho on a diet plan, although that doesn’t mean I can’t make an effort to make better choices. The #1 thing I am working on – starting NOW – is to chug the water! I’ve been slacking on it the past few weeks, and I feel better when I drink more. Plus if I’m really focusing on drinking more, I feel fuller which helps to minimize the endless snacking.

Somehow I need to get my shit together again. I can’t put too much pressure on myself for the next couple of months, but I still need to do the best I can. My hope is to get through this crazy work project with my sanity intact, and come out of it with some solid goals. Maybe I need to treat myself like a child and make a sticker chart or something. Ha! I’m sort of serious too…I need a visual way to “reward” myself for reaching my goals.

If I can work it out, I would love to take a full week off work when the kids are in school. I’m sure daycare will take time off to screw that up, though. It always happens. I understand it, but I also haven’t had much “me time” since we switched to this daycare 3 years ago. It’s much better than the previous one, so I have no regrets, I’m just missing my time.

Okay, so I can start some goals NOW. Today I will drink lots of water. And I will focus on work. I have a lot to do and will feel better at the end of the day knowing I did all I could do.

Do you have any tips to help me get through the next 7 or 8 weeks? Do you have any ideas on how I get track my goals?

4 thoughts on “Fricking Fracking Stress!

  1. My suggestion is almost identical to Dave’s, although maybe not quite as detailed. I do great when I have a “to do” list. For me, there’s nothing like the feeling of accomplishment when I can mark something off! I’ve even been known to add something after I did it, so I can mark it off! If I didn’t do this, I don’t know that I’d ever get anything done! And yes, I did this at work too, when I was working. With all sorts of thing on the list, I can nearly always find something that I’m in the mood to get done.

    • I’m the same way, or at least I used to be. I’m still working on finding that me again. I think I just need to make more of an effort at it and just do it. If I “make” myself pick one thing from my list every day, I know I’ll eventually feel much better. Like most things, just getting started and into the habit is the hardest part.

  2. Wow … can I identify!!

    I don’t know if this will help … and it’s as simple as it can get and somewhat silly … but what really helped me deal with all the undone and unaccomplished stress was to make a list.

    At the height of my stress episode … I sat down and made a list of all the things that I want to get done and all the things that I have left undone. Once I made the list, I choose something to work on and worked on it. Some items took a while to complete (remodel bathroom) and other were really easy (clean windows on front of house).

    The most important thing that really helped me was I convinced myself that as long as I was doing something (anything) that was on the list I am ‘ok’. Even if there were (and are) many thing still to do be done, as long as I was working on some item that is on my list, then I am ok. I realized that it takes time to get everything done and there are going to be things are still undone, but I will get to them because it’s on my list.

    Magically, many things that were wasting my time (watching hours of tv or over sleeping) just disappeared. And, since I wasn’t watching so much tv anymore I wasn’t over eating as much.

    Also, as if by magic, things that I’ve left undone (some items for years) finally got done. And once they got done, I felt so so so so much better about myself and my world.

    I don’t know if this will help and it took me a while to implement this in my own life, but now that it is a habit, things are much better for me. I wish the best for you!!

    P.S. I also do the same at work and it’s has so organized and focused my work life that I wished I would have ‘discovered’ this years ago!!

    • Thanks, this does help! I am a list person, or at least I used to be. I finally created a list of every single thing to do around the house for “spring cleaning”. My start date was July 6. I haven’t done a single thing on that list! I like your approach though…as long as I am doing something on the list, I am okay. I think that will be the key for me.

      When I need a break from work, I will do something on my list. I mean, I can take 10 minutes to clean a ceiling fan, can’t I? It will be a much-needed break from work, and I will feel better getting something done.

      I can do that kind of stuff now. Then when the work project is done, I can work on a new list with more fun things, like painting the bedroom or finishing the scarf I started to crochet a year ago.

Leave a Reply

