Milestones

I have hit numerous milestones this past week.

First my car rolled over 100,000 miles. And I wasn’t even the one driving it to witness the momentous occasion! It’s exciting but sad at the same time. It isn’t quite 5 years old, so I drive a LOT. I still have about 9 months left to pay on it and am already getting New Car Fever. I would love to get something with a 3rd row and hopefully minimize some of the kids’ fighting. They aren’t usually in the car together more than 10 minutes at a time, yet they insist on arguing and making it a brutal 10 minutes. I really can’t consider a new vehicle until this one is paid off though.

Last Friday I took the day off work. I went for a run early in the day and got more steps than I expected. I think I was at 10,000 steps before noon! It was easy to hit 15,000 steps that day…my first time since getting my Fitbit pedometer! I turned around and did the same thing on Saturday.

I’ve been sticking with Week 6 Day 1 of the c25k program. With an 8 minute run and two 5 minute runs, it pushes me. But not so much that I dread it. It’s actually enjoyable now and I am working on increasing my pace. My best time for this run is 16:01, which is great for me! I’m working to get under 16:00, then will consider moving on to the next workout.

After two crazy step days, I was hurting on Sunday. Not a bad hurt, but I could definitely tell I had been working my body harder. I wanted to run knowing I wouldn’t be able to for a couple more days, but listened to my body and just walked. It was kind of enjoyable to not push myself so hard. And it took a good 10 minutes for my body to loosen up enough that I didn’t hurt. It was a wise move on my part.

Now we’re in the middle of two extremely warm and humid days. With no air conditioner (not even a window unit), I am not about to exert myself in the heat. Even a cold shower doesn’t cut it. By the time I’m dried off, I’m dripping in sweat again. It should cool off again tomorrow, so I will be back to running as much as my schedule allows.

I can hardly wait to hit the pavement, or dirt road, again!

2 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. You really do drive a lot! We bought a used Prius that had 100,000 miles on it and luckily it’s still awesome. I wonder how many more miles we’ve put on it at this point. New car fever is so much fun, though. I bought my 2012 Veloster brand new in the fall of 2011 and it was one of the most exciting things ever.

    Glad to hear you’re thriving with running!

Leave a Reply

