Another birthday, and other updates

Birthdays are over in our house for this year! I’ll be giving a birthday party this weekend, so have a lot to do to get ready for it, but hopefully won’t have too many cupcakes leftover.

First, I’ll share a couple of photos from Allison’s 6th Birthday. She is such a little spitfire and really keeps me hopping, but she’s also such a sweet and fun little girl.

Here is her birthday cake. She wanted a minion cake, and not just any minion. She wanted some minion named Dave! Good thing Google helped me figure out which one he is.

Minion cake

Minion cake

She put her own candles on her cake, which is why some are on the minion. Oh well, it’s her cake!

Birthday Girl with her cake.

Birthday Girl with her cake.

And here she is with her American Girl doll, Kit. They have matching pajamas! Oh, and don’t you love our living room carpet! I hate it, but it’s still in good shape and we can’t afford to re-carpet that room yet.

Allison and Kit - matching pjs!

Allison and Kit – matching pjs!

Since I have pics from Kody’s birthday off my camera, here is one of him with his cake. I have to be fair, you know!

Kody with his cake.

Kody with his cake.

Now, onto other updates.

On Sunday, I went back to my eating plan that has worked for me before. I am not eating obvious sugars, bread, crackers, etc. Days I do well, I get 2 Dove dark chocolates before bed. I did 3 days successfully! Today I’m working at home, and I don’t know why, but just don’t feel like caring today. So, no chocolates tonight.

Back on track tomorrow, for sure!

The good news is I really only ate well for those 3 days, then had my weigh-in this morning. I lost 1.1 pounds this week! I will certainly take it. I weighed in at 260.6, so am determined to get out of the 260s by next week. And this time I will never see them again. Ugh.

Overall, I’m feeling good about my plan. I think the nightly chocolates will help so that I don’t feel so deprived. We’ll see…I’m definitely going to keep this up.

Oh, and my couponing is going well! In just 3 trips to Target, I’ve saved an average of $50 per trip! And I’m really only buying things I would be buying anyway. I will never be one of those people who buys things just because they’re cheap. I don’t care how good of a deal it is, if I’m not going to use it, it’s a waste of my time and money to buy it. I’m feeling a bit better about our financial situation, which is the point of me taking the time to do this.

Back to work now…I haven’t been very productive today. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another birthday, and other updates

  1. I remember a time when I used to buy so many things simply because I got a great deal for it! Not anymore, I finally realized that although they cost me close to nothing, they usually sat in a closet or drawer! Great job on the progress!! and I love the idea of the dove chocolate.. maybe I need to do something similar for myself. I feel like I easily allow myself to eat sugar.

    • It’s SO easy to let that sugar creep back in. The chocolate is definitely worth a shot! I tried a few years ago and it didn’t work, but this time it’s going okay. I just hope it continues!

Leave a Reply

