Which way do I go?

I know I’m wishy washy on my weight loss plan. I guess I’m just trying to find what will work for me at this point in my life.

I know cutting out the sugary and processed foods works. I’ve proved that twice. The problem is it’s so easy to fall back into bad habits after allowing just a little bit of any restricted foods. When I did it, I also felt like I couldn’t divert from my path at all. So when my boss got pizza for the department, I felt like I couldn’t partake in it. I need to find a way to eat healthier most of the time, but allow myself indulgences occasionally so that I can go with the flow a bit.

One time before, I tried allowing myself two dark Dove chocolates in the evening. It didn’t work. Before I knew it, I had eaten the entire bag.

But, perhaps it’s something I can try again. I could follow my sugar-free plan, and allow myself two chocolates at the end of each day I stick with the plan. It would be a nice treat and reward for a day well done.

Or will I end up eating the entire bag within a day or two again?

Or will I say “screw it” and eat pizza, then still have my chocolates anyway since I had already messed up that day? In which case I know it would be more than two.

I don’t know. What I do know is when I stay away from sugar and processed foods, I feel a lot better. And the weight practically melts off, which is definitely a bonus!

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Do you think restricting certain foods only sets one up to fail? Or could the small daily treat be enough indulging and help me get through?

I know different things work for everyone. I’m just curious about reactions to my thoughts…your input will help me to think of various pros and cons. No matter what, I need to keep working to figure this out.

8 thoughts on “Which way do I go?

  1. I like what Dr. Mark Hyman has to say on the subject. I saw him again last night on PBS. I love watching him. He re-motivates me to do what is best for my body. He authored The Blood Sugar Solution, and his newest book 10 Day Detox Diet. He says that we become addicted (literally) to the processed foods. Science shows it is more addictive than heroine. The only way to cure the addiction is to eliminate these poisons from our diet completely. So as of June 1st, I am going sugar free and wheat free. We’ll see if he is right.

  2. Like you said, different things work for different people. I say do what has worked for you in the past. There will always be the question of what if… but just jump in and do your very best and never give up.

  3. I have just begun to cut out sweetener which I have come to realise is the devil incarnate! I think it’s a hard toss up with restricting foods – there are some foods that I know once I get a taste for them – I wont stop and others that aren’t foods that I would tend to gorge on. For me it is crisps. SO this time I have decided that I absolutely wont eat crisps – much like an alcoholic must never touch alcohol. But in restricting that I WILL eat chocolate or a biscuit occasionally. Does that help? Are there foods that you find you will keep eating if you begin? I would say they are the one’s to cut out – but in doing so, don’t deny yourself other pleasures. Good luck on your journey. x

    • Thanks for the comment! Any sweets/desserts are that trigger for me. But even if all we have in the house is chips and crackers, I’ll eat them just because I feel like I need to be eating. I need to break these bad habits once and for all! I definitely need to stay away from the sweets and anything sugary. Still trying to figure out exactly what I’m going to do. I just know I have to do SOMETHING.

Leave a Reply

