December: A Plan

Today is my 11th day off of work, if you count Thanksgiving and weekends. It has been nice and I do not want to go back tomorrow. Although part of me needs the routine again. For some reason, it’s so much easier to eat better when I’m working…at least in the office. I never go out for lunch, so will eat what I bring…and it’s usually something healthy.

It will be tough this month with all the treats that will appear, but I plan to stay out of them. At least most of the time. I need to remember that they usually aren’t all that good. And tasty or not, I never feel better for having eaten them.

Today, being December 1, starts my plan to get me through the rest of the year. I weighed in today and am 259.7 pounds. ACK! I want to get back to 253, which is 30 pounds down from my heaviest, and maintain it through the month. I can do it, but it will take diligence and a lot of self-control.

Here are my goals for the month. They take the holidays into consideration so I don’t have to be perfect 100% of the time, but should keep me on track enough to have some success.

~ drink 10 glasses (80 ounces)ย of water every day

~ exercise for at least 10 minutes at least 5 days each week

~ log calories at least 5 days each week, and stay within my MyFitnessPal calorie range

~ do a 60 second (modified) plank every day

I have decided not to do a strict food plan for now. BUT, I need to log what I’m eating most of the time. This will allow me to enjoy in moderation. And my “off” days don’t mean they’re a free-for-all. It just means I don’t need to log my food because it gets to be overwhelming at times. Yes, I will likely go over those days, but I will also pay attention to what I’m eating.

I hope this works because I do NOT want to gain this month. I want to end this year feeling good about my accomplishments, and start 2014 off with a bang.

8 thoughts on “December: A Plan

  1. Teresa, I hope you don’t mind but I’m making your goals my own as well. They are achievable, worthy, measurable…and frankly, you inspire me. I weighed myself last night, confident that I would find the 11 pound gain (from an original 31 pounds lost) would be all I would see. Not so….I’ve now gained 21 pounds back. Holy….freaking….poop…..Let’s just say the clean eating wagon pulled back into the station with a mighty roar….

    So why the plank position? I like the idea, I was just curious why it was a goal?

    • Crystal, I am incredibly honored!! That is exactly why I chose these goals. They are something to keep me on track, without overwhelming myself.

      I chose planks for a few reasons. I feel much better with a stronger core. 60 seconds is a challenge for me, yet doable, and who doesn’t have 60 seconds?? And planks strengthen other muscles in the body, all in one exercise.

  2. I think it would be really difficult to do a strict diet plan, anyway. With the holidays it might make for a sticky situation. Your goals sound great, though! I don’t want to go back to work tomorrow, either.

Leave a Reply

