Week 3: Back to Reality

Work is back to normal hours! WOOHOO!!

Last weekend was wonderfully relaxing. The kids stayed with my in-laws Friday night and Marcus and I headed to our hotel that night. We enjoyed a nice dinner (I got a yummy salad) and slept in a bit on Saturday. We had the entire day to do whatever we wanted. We did a lot of driving, and a nice amount of wandering around poking into shops here and there. We even found Christmas gifts for both our moms! We had a really nice time and didn’t argue or bicker once. It was more like the old days. Before kids. Don’t get me wrong, we love our kids and are grateful to have them. But it was also really nice to enjoy some time together. We definitely need to do more of that.

Life is s l o w l y getting back to normal. Whatever normal is! Evenings are still busy, of course, with the kids. But at least I don’t have to work after they’re in bed. Now I can attempt to keep up on dishes (we don’t have a dishwasher) or relax in front of the TV. I’m looking forward to getting back into reading before bed too.

I suppose now is as good a time as any to report my weigh-in for the week. I didn’t eat well all weekend, but have been basically back on track since Monday. I somehow managed to lose .4 lb this week. I’ll take it!! Now I need to keep this up and I should see a nice loss next week. I need to pick up the pace here if I want to fit into my wedding dress next October.

I am back to doing my wii Biggest Loser workout. I do the shortest workout I can (for now) and it’s helping me get back into the routine. I’m not sure how much jogging I’ll be doing outside this winter, so I need something else that I know I will do. I also set a goal that I will do when I work at home once a week. My fitbit pedometer records flights of stairs. The most I had previously gotten was 25 flights, which I thought was pushing it. But last week I decided to go for the next badge, or “sticker”, and go for 50 flights. I did it and it wasn’t too bad! So I did it again this week. I plan to do that once a week. I’ll have some killer thighs and buns before too long! haha!

Next week is a short week for me, then I am taking a FULL WEEK off of work! I haven’t done that since I have been at this job (nearly 9 years), other than maternity leave which does NOT count. The kids have school and daycare, and I am beyond excited for this Me Time. I desperately need it. One day my sister and I will have our annual shopping trip, and the rest will be filled with household chores, miscellaneous projects, possibly painting, and relaxing. I cannot wait!!

I promise to catch up with all of you soon. I have fallen behind on my blog reading and miss all of you!

11 thoughts on “Week 3: Back to Reality

  1. I’m so glad normalcy is being restored. Taking time for you is so, so vital – I just can’t allow myself to do that yet. That makes you my idol!

    • I used to take more time for myself, but it happened less with each kid we had. Normal, I suppose, but I need time for myself. It helps me to be a better mom, and person. You’ll get there too, dear friend. One day at a time!

  2. Wow, kudos for doing 50 flights of stairs. I think I’ve done that once before but it’s hard! I aim for 10 flights a day. lol Sounds like you had a lovely weekend with not really any weight-related consequences, so that’s great!

Leave a Reply

