Week 2: Changing Tastebuds

I might as well get my weigh-in over with. I lost .9 lb this week, so I am at 252.3 lbs. I have to be honest that I was hoping to lose more. I’ve been eating much better and am back to drinking 80 ounces of water every day. I need to work on upping the water, but it feels good to be drinking more again. I suppose I should admit to eating a bit of Halloween candy here and there. I’m sure that’s my problem and why I didn’t lose more. I am still happy with a loss. I hope next week I can kiss the 250s goodbye.

Yesterday I gave myself an impromtu challenge. I have a fitbit pedometer, which I love. It records the number of floors I climb, and when I’m in the mood to move at all, it encourages me to get at least 10 floors a day. On one occasion last spring, I hit 25 floors, so earned a fitbit badge for the accomplishment. The next badge is rewarded at 50 floors. Yesterday, since I was working at home, I decided I was going to earn that 50 floor badge. And I did it by 3pm! It was much easier than I expected it to be, and I’m really not sore today. I think the little bit of jogging I’m doing is helping to strengthen my thighs. It felt great to do that, and I am going to make it my personal goal every day I work at home.

I have known for quite a while that my tastebuds have changed since I started eating cleaner. I found two things this past week that have somewhat surprised me. One day I put half a banana in my morning oatmeal. You know what? It was almost too sweet! What?! Are you kidding me?! I LOVE sweets and I found this to be too sweet? Wow! I have also been experimenting with making squash soup. I definitely need to get an immersion blender. The thing that surprises me is I am actually craving this soup. It is really good and my body is craving the healthier foods. It is filling and low calorie. I definitely think this will become a staple in my house. And no one else will touch it so I know it’s all mine. hehe

My work project is almost done. I’m hoping to give my final approval tomorrow. Then there will be some final proofing in the next week, but nothing that I can’t do during my normal hours. Then tomorrow night Marcus and I are spending the night in a hotel, and will do whatever we feel like on Saturday! Sleeping in, not waking up to immediate kid chaos, then doing whatever we’d like. All day long! We need this time together, and I need this break from “life”.

I just need to figure out how to not gain weight this weekend. I want to enjoy it, while being healthy at the same time. So this doesn’t mean I can have greasy food all weekend. No way! It’s just not worth it.

I am WAY behind on my blog reading, but promise to catch up with all of you as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

