Day 27: A Confession

It’s no secret I’ve been struggling for the past 10 days or so. Friday night was particularly tough. Thank you to those of you who helped me get through it by commenting on my facebook post. It was SO HARD, but I did it! That was an amazing feeling.

Yesterday was a great day. We have been having LOTS of problems with our phone reception through Sprint since late spring/early summer. We’ve been with them for 9 or 10 years now and never had problems. This past summer has been awful. I drop calls all the time, and my best friend jokes that she’s not going to call me anymore. I won’t complain too much, because it’s now in the past. Yesterday we switched to Verizon. That’s not the exciting part. Marcus and I both got the iPhone 5c, and I LOVE it!! Marcus would never text before, but he sent me his first text yesterday. Talk about exciting! lol He said he feels like he just went from a Fred Flintstone car to a Maserati!

That wasn’t all as far as technology leaps in our house. We finally bought a wireless router for the house! I know this isn’t all that exciting. Most people are already hooked into technology. But our kids are getting a bit older so we’re forcing ourselves to learn. Pretty soon they will know more than us, and honestly, I’d like to know how all this works so I can keep an eye on them…and teach them how to use their devices correctly. So now we’re set up and will hopefully venture into the world of tablets around Christmas.

After all our shopping was done, we went to Applebee’s for lunch. I had every intention of getting a salad. I know how many calories they are and the ingredients fit into my Healthy 30. It was a bit chilly out, I didn’t bring a coat, and then it started raining. I was wet and cold, and eating a cold salad wasn’t appetizing at all. Their high-calorie but oh-so-delicious quesadilla burger was totally calling to me. So I ordered it, knowing nothing about it was in my plan. And it was amazingly delicious. Even though I didn’t quite make the full 30 days without cheating, I do not regret that meal one bit. It’s like it was exactly what I was craving, and it was satisfied.

The problem was my unhealthy eating didn’t end there. I didn’t totally overeat, not at all. But we had pizza for supper and I also had 2 beers. I don’t regret this either. One weak day is not at all what I was hoping for. But now it’s over and I no longer feel tempted to eat bad. I am totally back on track today, and will finish my challenge strong.

It’s a beautiful, although chilly, day here in Minnesota. Marcus doesn’t want to go to the pumpkin patch today, but we plan to go one of these upcoming weekends. Our sweet corn was planted VERY late and is about ready, so hopefully we can freeze that today. Our tomatoes are finally starting to turn red, and I’m anxious to start canning those too. And I’d like to can applesauce. So much to do and definitely not enough time with my work schedule this time of year.

Speaking of work, I’m skipping church again so I can work uninterrupted. Better quit blogging and get to it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 27: A Confession

  1. One cheat day is great for getting over those cravings. Sounds like overall you’re doing well and still able to enjoy fun food every once and a while.

    Verizon has some of the best service and reception ever. AT&T has great reception, too. We switched to T-Mobile for cheaper pricing which is awesome but now we have much crappier reception and many more dropped calls. Seems like there’s no happy medium when it comes to phone plans and companies. Congrats on your new 5C’s! What colors did you both get?

Leave a Reply

