Day 25: Learning more about my body

Work, work, work. Blah, blah, blah.

My life literally revolves around work this time of year. I have worked at least a little bit every single day since September 3. By the time I leave work today, I will be at 53.75 hours so far for the week. And I could easily put in a full day tomorrow. The overtime pay is what keeps me going. At least now when I’m in the early stages of the long weeks. In another month, I will no longer care about the money.

I am really hoping for a family day on Sunday. I have an idea I ran by Marcus. So far he doesn’t seem real excited, but I think it would be fun. There is a pumpkin patch in our area, one that the girls went to with school a couple of times. Allison might get to go again this year, but those school events are always insanely crazy. So I thought it would be nice for us to go as a family. We can take our time and wander around at our leisure. Pick pumpkins, go for a wagon ride, take some nice pictures, and enjoy some beautiful fall weather. We rarely do these things and I think it would be nice. Plus I could use the break from work.

I almost caved last night. I almost quit my Healthy 30. It’s not like I’ve been craving anything specific. I’m not drooling over the thought of a piece of pizza or a brownie. But I don’t feel like counting my calories and want to eat whatever I want. This has been going on for a week or 10 days. Somehow I still I stick with it. By now I’m on Day 25! I canNOT throw in the towel now!

Part of my frustration is that the scale hasn’t budged in a week. Well, slight fluctuations here and there, but nothing significant enough to worry about or get excited about.

Last night I figured it out. Since eating cleaner seems to be making my menstrual cycles more regular (something I have NEVER experienced), I realized these are things I have been dealing with around this time of my cycle. Not wanting to make the effort to eat healthy. Munchies. Weight gain or fluid retention. This is exactly what I’ve been dealing with for the past week. This is exactly what I have gone through previous months about this time. Realizing this was all I needed last night to stick to my plan.

I am confident the scale will reward me soon. But more than that, I am beyond PROUD that I have stuck to my plan this past week.

7 thoughts on “Day 25: Learning more about my body

  1. Sounds like PMS and it’s great you recognized it! It’s like a good thing because you’re cycles are becoming more regular but sucks because now you have to deal with it. That’s what I have to look forward to next week!
    That Sunday family idea sounds really nice and relaxing. I think Marcus will change his tune once you get out there. Sounds like something I would do. Sometimes just getting out there and doing it is what it takes to enjoy something even if you’re not super excited about it.

Leave a Reply

