Day 4: Why did it take me so long to get back on track?

It’s only the beginning of Day 4 of my Healthy 30 and I am already feeling SO much better. This morning the scale was 247, so I am just 1 pound away from my lowest. I am already down 5 lbs, although I know the first few were likely fluid retention. That’s okay though…seeing the loss motivates me.

It might be a blessing that work is getting busier. I’m trying to work at least 1 hour after the kids go to bed, which helps to keep my mind off food. I’m really not hungry anyway, so having something to do helps a lot.

I have made some observations regarding that time of the month. (For any men who don’t want to hear about this, you might want to look away now.) I have always had irregular cycles. Always. I had some trouble getting pregnant because I was so irregular. But I have noticed when I am eating cleaner, my cyles are becoming more regular. It’s not really a big deal to me either way because it isn’t a health concern, but still nice to be able to predict it better so that I’m prepared.

Did I mention I bought some new jeans this past weekend? I have always worn what I guess you would call “mom jeans”. Not cute, and I would buy whatever fits, even if they don’t look particularly good. I don’t like going to new stores by myself, which is something I need to work on, but that’s another topic for another day. Anyway, my friend and I were at the Mall of America on Monday and she shops a lot at Maurices. I decided to try on some jeans and found a pair I liked. And they were the cheaper style – score! So I bought one that fits now (a size 24, although most 22s fit), and one size smaller. I feel better wearing something cute, and I know the smaller size 22 will fit very soon. I can actually get them on and buttoned if I lay down. The problem is I can’t rebutton them after using the bathroom, unless I lay down again. Not very practical when I’m not home! I can’t wait until I CAN wear them in public.

Time to get cracking now. The work doesn’t do itself!

4 thoughts on “Day 4: Why did it take me so long to get back on track?

  1. Woo hoo! New jeans are are great way to feel fresh and sassy as well as a wonderful motivator. Good for you for splurging on yourself…you deserve it! The human body definitely does respond quickly to clean eating and a change of habits, I agree.

Leave a Reply

