Day 1: How Bad Do You Want It?

Are you hungry?
Are you thirsty?
Is it a fire that burns you up inside?
How bad do you want it?
How bad do you need it?
Are you eating, sleeping, dreaming
With that one thing on your mind?
How bad do you want it?
How bad do you need it?
Cause if you want it all
You’ve got to lay it all out on the line

These are the words to one of my favorite Tim McGraw songs. It’s one of those that resonates with me, and my friend and I took it as a sign when he performed it last night at the Minnesota State Fair. He has a LOT of hit, so can’t play even a fraction of them. I had a great time and am very tired (and a bit cranky) today, but am still determined to succeed at my Healthy 30. “How bad do you want it? How bad do you need it?” I ask myself. I want it bad! I need it bad! I’m not really hungry today, so that helps. And I know I will feel better tomorrow after a good night’s sleep.

I am reluctantly sharing my starting weight. I haven’t divulged my actual weight here before, but I am going to “lay it all out on the line”. At only 5′ 2 1/2″ tall, my current weight of 252 pounds is a burden. Even though I am 25 pounds lighter than my heaviest, it is still too much. Last September I lost 13 pounds during my Healthy 30 (and I have kept it off), and am hoping for 15 pounds this time. I may have a couple of pounds of fluid retention, so that will only help to encourage me once it’s off.

Here are my personal rules for my Healthy 30:

September 3, 2013 to October 2, 2013
~ No obvious sugars, other than in my coffee. Coffee is limited to 3 cups per day.
~ No bread, pasta, crackers, cereal, etc.
~ No alcohol.
~ Limit yogurt to one per day. Limit other dairy products such as cheese.
~ Limit popcorn (air-popped) to once per week.
~ Drink lots of water! Aim for 128 ounces every day.

Here is today’s basic menu plan:

Breakfast – coffee with creamer, 1/2 banana. I wasn’t hungry, but knew I had to eat something.
Lunch – sautéed red pepper with scrambled eggs
Supper – taco salad
Snacks – probably a yogurt, and possibly some grapes or watermelon

I am also logging my food with MyFitnessPal. While I’m not focusing on calories right now, I want to have an idea of how much I eat with this plan. And ultimately, I want to make sure my calories, sugar, protein, etc and all in line with where they should be.

Time to get some work done while I can. Tomorrow is a big deadline day so things are BUSY! I’m behind on my blog reading, but want to make time to catch up a bit. I am so inspired by many of you, and I need to bottle up the motivation and carry it with me during this next month!

Now, here’s to hoping I can accomplish a lot while Kody naps this afternoon. And that I don’t nod off as well…

10 thoughts on “Day 1: How Bad Do You Want It?

  1. Pingback: I am a runner | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  2. Pingback: October Plan | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  3. Congratulations, having a plan is a huge step. A plan gives you a vehicle to put your wishes into action. You can do this. I look forward tracking your progress along side my own. At 5′ 3″ and 292 pounds I have a ways to go but as the old saying goes … “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

    • Great saying! I try not to think about how long this journey is. Step by step, pound by pound, I will get there. You will too, and I look forward to giving and sharing support as we go through this!

  4. I like hearing about your Healthy 30 plan! Looks like you have an excellent focus goal to focus on and a lot of structure to keep you in line & accountable. MFP is great for tracking all the nutrients and balancing, isn’t it? Do you set your carb/protein/fat percentages differently than the default?

    • Right now my %s are the default. I honestly don’t have enough knowledge about how much I need or want to set them otherwise.
      This is honestly how I want to eat MOST of the time. Once I hit my goal, because I WILL get there, I like your 80/20 theory you posted about.

  5. I know it’s easier for men because in general we seemingly don’t care about age or weight but I will support your decision to divulge your starting weight by sharing mine…..I am 6’3 and have been over 323 pounds but have dropped down to 307. I tell everybody so it’s no big deal anymore……I may have already told you?

    I admire your ability to stick with the plan you shared regarding foods that are forbidden. I have tried and failed on those types so many times because I simply feel deprived. I hate feeling deprived. I am now having a wonderful time on the Primal Food Plan. I think I have mentioned this before to you. The key for me has been to stick to the high protein foods that really help keep me full but also……this is the big part for me……I no longer deprive myself of anything. I eat anything I desire. In tiny portions. If I feel like candy I pop three or four M&M’s in my mouth……kills the craving. If I feel like cake I shave off a tiny sliver…..kills the craving. I do this with everything. I have learned that the tiniest of portions completely end my cravings. It’s great!

    Last night I sooooo wanted ice cream. Instead of relying on will power to get me through I simply grabbed a spoonful and put the rest back in the freezer. No harm to my day and I was totally satisfied for the rest of the night!

    Working so far and it’s something I can get my brain around so I no longer feel like I am on a diet at all but the pounds are coming off. I could care less how long it takes as long as I stay on the path and keep losing!

    KCCO!

    Stephan

    • I agree 100% that protein makes a HUGE difference!

      I never, ever thought I could give up these foods, yet I have learned they are also major trigger foods for me. Once I start eating sugar, it snowballs and before I know it, I’ve eaten terrible food all night long. Someday I would love to be where you are and be fine with a small portion of desserts. From doing this before, I also know when those foods are out of my system, I don’t crave anything sweeter than a piece of fruit. And my energy levels were through the roof! (I’m not trying to persuade you to try it, just remembering how I felt and getting excited. lol)

      I’m so glad your plan is working for you! As long as we’re making progress, that’s a good thing. No matter how long it takes.

      Thank you for your support Stephan!

  6. Not being hungry when you are tired is a blessing, because so often we are prone to make bad choices when we’re tired. It’s great that you planned today’s meals/snacks ahead to take the bad choice possibility even further away.

    Sharing your starting weight and laying it all out on the line can be so freeing. YOU are so ready for this!

    Love that you got YOUR song from Tim McGraw last night! How cool is that?!?!

    • Thanks Cyndi. I AM ready for this! When I look back and see I kept off what I lost last time I did this, it reinforces this is the way for me to eat. I might be more strict in the future, but this is definitely a way of life I can handle. Even indulging occasionally won’t “ruin” my loss. I just need to follow this plan 90% of the time. Thank you for your support!

Leave a Reply

