In a funk!

I have been in a funk for a few weeks now. I’m not totally sinking into the bottomless pit of despair, yet I can’t quite pull myself out of this. I think my depression is back. Perhaps it was never really gone. Or perhaps I will go through these episodes for the rest of my life. I need to figure out how to get through them without too much damage to my health.

I always have good intentions. Always. But then something happens and I start in on the self-destructing habits. I get mad. I get busy with work. I feel pulled in too many directions. I don’t have any down-time. I don’t get enough sleep. It’s too hot. I could go on and on with the things that get me off track. Emotional eating definitely has a hold on me.

I should probably see a therapist. I’ve made a lot of progress on my own, but I also know I could benefit from a professional. I’m open-minded and honest enough with myself, that I know it would help. But time and money are both a luxury and I have very little of both.

One thing I’ve been thinking about lately is Overeaters Anonymous. Last week I looked into it briefly, and there are many meetings in my area. They’re free, although I still have the time factor. It could be done though, if I want it bad enough. They also have online meetings, so I will look more into that first. My homework for today is to do more research about OA.

In the meantime, I need to be more mindful of what I’m eating. Am I really hungry? Am I trying to fill a void? Is this the food my body is really craving? Will it cure my craving or trigger more cravings?

I also need to track EVERYTHING I EAT! Even if I go over my calories, I need to be accountable for what I put in my mouth. I like MyFitnessPal because at the end of the day, you can click the button that estimates what you will weigh in 5 weeks if every day were like that day. It’s fun to see how low the number could be. If I stay on track.

I am ready to get out of this funk.

6 thoughts on “In a funk!

  1. OA could work for you, it has for many people. It didn’t work for me. If you go you should be prepared to commit. After a few meetings you will be encouraged to get a sponsor. They will also encourage you to follow the AA protocols of 90 meetings in 90 days. In my experience, most of the members at my OA meetings were “eating clean”: no flour, no sugar – ever. There is plenty of literature to read, and lots of sharing with the other members during the meetings. Members really come to rely on one another for support and encouragement, that can really make a difference. Good luck.

  2. I’ve heard that OA can be helpful. That could be a good form of free therapy. You may also find useful books in the self-help section of the book store. Some of those could carry valuable information and techniques to help you without having a psych. I’m so sorry you are going through this funk and I hope it is one of those things that passes rather than ongoing.

    • I do have a couple of self help books that I bought a few years ago. I’ll have to make an effort to actually read them! ha! After finding out more about OA, I’m not sure it’s a fit for me, but I’ll still look into an online meeting.

  3. “I’m open-minded and honest enough with myself” and that is why “I’ve made a lot of progress on my own.” You have done remarkably well for someone working their way through on their own…especially with a job and small children and a farm life!! Kudos to you!! I think looking into OA is a great idea. Support is always a good thing. You have no idea how impressed I am with you. Really! Sending a hug…

Leave a Reply

