Random Facts

I have been thinking about doing a post of random fact about myself. Today I have been inspired by a fellow blogger (you know who you are :)) and decided to get it done.

I love Tim McGraw! Enough said. LOL

We have a stop sign at the end of our driveway. A few years ago, my FIL decided we needed one at the end of our driveway because we have a lot of tall bushes and you need to remember to stop before turning onto the gravel road. Common knowledge, right? I despise the stop sign and it makes us looks silly. But Marcus isn’t willing to argue with his dad over it. And I know how to pick my battles. This isn’t one I’m willing to fight.

I could never be a SAHM. Never! I’m home today with the kids as my first day of vacation. They’re just being kids, but are already driving me crazy. Luckily the rest of vacation we have plans. And either my mom or Marcus should be around to help during all the craziness. It gets easier as they get older, but I have a really tough time during the younger ages when they’re so dependent on me. And throw tantrums.

Growing up, I wanted to be an architect. I don’t anymore, but I still have a love of houses. I’m not sure if it’ll happen, but I want to build my own home someday.

I had babies of all sizes. My first baby, Cameron, was born 1 month early. She was tiny at only 4 pounds 11 ounces. We were lucky she only had some feeding issues, but no other complications. Two years later, Allison was born at 8 pounds 10 ounces. Then three years later, Kody (aka Tank) was born at a whopping 9 pounds 14 ounces!

I know how to play piano and clarinet. Okay, so it’s been a while, but I used to play. I was decent at both, but could have been better if I practiced. I was also in our local marching band in high school. One of the best experiences of my life!

I am teaching myself to crochet. Both my grandma and great-grandma crocheted. My mom used to a little bit. I have been wanting to find a hobby and want to see if I inherited any of the crochet talent. I don’t have a lot of time, but finally found an easy scarf pattern I like. It’s coming together nicely, so I hope I like it once it’s finished.

I had my wedding ring cut off my finger. Two years I was at a convention and decided to wear my wedding ring, since I hadn’t been wearing it much due to weight gain. It went on okay, but my finger gradually started to swell. A few hours into the day, I just knew I was in trouble. I couldn’t get it off and ended up having it cut off my finger. Some people would have been heartbroken, but I was happy to save my finger. And the ring was fixable. I finally got it fixed a few months ago…and sized a little bit bigger.

I have exercise-induced allergies. I know it sounds silly, but it’s true. There have been two occasions where Marcus had to rush me to the ER because my tongue was swelling up. I could still breathe, but it was scary. I now have an epi-pen, although it’s expired. Both times, I had been weeding in the garden late summer/early fall when ragweed was abundant. Soon after weeding, I exercised. I underwent allergy testing, and my highest reaction was to various weeds. I also had enough of a reaction to shellfish that I was told I should probably avoid it. That’s fine with me, and a great reason to get out of trying it.

Being a mom is the hardest thing I have ever done. And the most rewarding. Okay, I know most people say that. But it’s true. Many days I feel like I’m going crazy because it’s so incredibly challenging. And because Marcus isn’t around to help nearly as much as I thought he would be. That’s farm life. But then when everyone is behaving, I stop and pay attention to how beautiful and unique each of them is. I especially love listening to them laugh. I love them with all of my heart and know they are growing up to be the best they can be.

That’s it for today. Back to the crazy kids! God help me…

6 thoughts on “Random Facts

    • I’ll definitely post a photo when I’m done with the scarf. I know he meant well about the stop sign. But, really? We live on a FARM! All I can do is roll my eyes and laugh. Someday it’ll be one of those things we laugh about…”Remember when Grandpa put that silly stop sign at the end of our driveway…”

  1. I loved reading this post all about you! Wow, exercise induced allergies sounds scary. I had issues with my wedding ring, too. My problem was that, as I gained weight, I never took it off. My finger grew around the ring and it just never came off. The day I had finally lost enough weight to get it off (with lotion) I texted my husband in excitement. Then I tucked it away at home until a month or two later when the swelling was down and more weight had come off.
    P.S. I played piano, too!

Leave a Reply

