I’m on the upswing!

The skies are blue. Temps have been perfect in the high 70s/low 80s with low humidity. I went for a quick run last night (okay, really a walk with jogging intervals, but that’s running in my book). And to top it off, I saw a new low on the scale this morning!!

I might move my official weigh-ins to Tuesday. This past Monday I was up 5 pounds, but I knew it wasn’t a true gain. By Tuesday, 4 of those pounds were gone. And today, Friday, it’s ALL gone plus another pound. So for my sanity, I am right now making the decision to move my official weigh-in to Tuesday.

I haven’t felt like I’ve been eating well at all. I haven’t been tracking my calories and definitely haven’t made the best choices. But apparently I’m not doing as bad as I thought since I hit a new low today! I need to get back to tracking though, or I will gradually make worse choices. Today I am back to drinking more water and cutting out the bread. I’ve eaten quite a few peanut butter and jelly sandwiches the past week – eek! Hopefully I have that craving out of my system now.

Overall I’m feeling more positive again. And I had a mini-revelation this morning. It’s something I already knew, but kind of “re-discovered” it this morning.

Last night I got home from work and decided I would make some popcorn as a snack later that evening. I got busy working on some stuff around the house, and by the time I had time to sit down, it was bedtime. So no popcorn, which was fine since I really wasn’t hungry. This morning I remembered how when I stay busy, I don’t have the time or desire to snack endlessly. So I am back to working on my mini goals, which I have also been slacking on the past few weeks. I feel better physically, emotionally and mentally when I am productive and not eating too much. So really it’s a win-win.

I am out of my funk and moving on up! Or down, as the scale would say.

4 thoughts on “I’m on the upswing!

  1. Woohoo on your new low! Kind of nice that it happened even when you weren’t tracking. Keeping busy helps a lot. When school starts back up I’m thinking I won’t be sitting around the house all day thinking about food. :p

  2. A new low on the scale and out of a funk…I’m glad to hear this great news!

    Cutting out bread is a great idea, too. Here are my personal thoughts on bread that keep me from indulging…
    Remember how in grade school we made paste from flour and water? Since those are also the main ingredients of bread, I think of it as clogging up our digestion system, causing added weight and backing up our system (if you know what I mean). Does that help you say NO? 🙂

    • This journey is full of ups and downs, but I will never give up. I’m quite proud of myself, and while it’s taking awhile, I think I have a great chance of keeping the weight off. That’s what really matters.

      Your bread analogy helps. Well, right now anyway. 🙂 I will have to remember it when I want to eat it. Or at least save my bread intake for better bread and not the cheap supermarket stuff that really isn’t good at all.

Leave a Reply

