Weekly Weigh-in

We had another nice, long weekend. It started with my cousin’s wedding on Friday. Marcus had to work, so I took all 3 kids. They were really good, but I still get stressed out when I’m the only parent responsible for them. That’s definitely something I’m working on, but one thing at a time. πŸ™‚ I’m grateful there was other family around, and I especially appreciate 2 of my uncles who offered to help get kids through the buffet line. Overall the kids did great. I just need to learn to relax and enjoy! We didn’t get home until after 10pm, which is WAY after their bedtime, but they all went to bed like little troopers.

The rest of the weekend was fairly uneventful. Marcus was around so I managed to get a couple of walks in.

Next Saturday we have an annual BBQ that we go to every year. It’s always a lot of fun, but I know that day will not be healthy. I’m going to work hard all week so I can enjoy without guilt. After that, we don’t have any big plans until our county fair mid-August, so I’ll have a couple of solid weeks with fewer temptations.

Today is my official weigh-in day. While the number wasn’t quite as low as I was hoping for, I am still very pleased with my progress. I lost 3 pounds! With a 2 pound gain last week, this was nice to see. I am officially in the next group of 10s and hope to never see the higher 10 again. I am now down 28 pounds and feeling great!

We ordered a new camera, so I’ll have to post some progress pics. I’m not sure I have any good ones to compare myself to my heaviest, so I’ll have to dig around for something there too. I have a feeling seeing the progress will be helpful.

I’mΒ kind of glad work is busy right now. Being busy keeps me out of the office treats!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh-in

  1. I know that social engagements are my biggest obstacle. Unfortunately I eat out with friends and family at least a few times each week. Plus every weekend is another party with wonderful potent potables. It can be very hard to say no.

    • Yes, it is hard. What if you start by making super good choices at one of those outings each week? It gets easier. Now when we eat out, I’m perfectly happy with a good salad (I check calories, etc before we go) and don’t feel deprived by skipping the burger and fries.

      • I sometimes forget that I can do things in stages. I have such an all or nothing mentality. Thanks for reminding me that I can take baby steps. I am going to take that suggestion. Good choice at one outing each week – to start.

      • I started out slow, and now I’m finally making more progress. Try not to focus on the end goal, but making smaller changes that you can live with. This is a lifestyle change, so you have to change things you’re willing to change forever. It’s definitely an up and down process!

  2. Yay for those 3 pounds! That’s awesome for one week! Saturday will be fun it sounds like. I think I want to use your frame of mind for Saturday because we’re going out for an anniversary dinner – Just work hard this week and enjoy Saturday without guilt. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

