Still going!

I haven’t been posting as much, but I’m still on plan. Well, for the most part. Last night I was starting to have a tough time and ended up eating 8 ritz crackers. Okay, that wasn’t bad. The old me would have kept going, but I stopped. And I counted the calories. They’re just not allowed in my diet plan, but I’m also not going to beat myself up.

The good news…the scale dropped a pound today! I needed that since I felt like I was struggling a bit last night. We have a wedding to go to tonight, so I have no idea what dinner will be. I’m guessing I’ll go over my calories, but I will stay on plan the rest of today. I need to enjoy life and do not want to feel deprived…or I’ll go completely overboard. I am making lifestyle changes, and weddings and other special events will still happen. I’ll enjoy the one meal, but be back on plan tomorrow.

I think I posted about my weird ankle pain here. It still comes and goes. Wednesday I had a great day for steps, hitting over 11,000 steps. Yesterday, my ankle was bothering me a lot, yet it didn’t on the day I got all the activity. I will pay more attention to this, but it seems to bother me more the day after a lot of steps. I do not think anything is physically wrong with my ankle, so could this be my brain telling me I don’t need to be active 2 days in a row?? I don’t know.

Overall, I am still feeling positive about everything. I’ve been eating really well and it feels great!

7 thoughts on “Still going!

  1. I was going to suggest going to a specialty running store to get fitted for sneakers. It is possible your foot is striking the pavement in a way that needs more support. Definitely worth looking into!! There are all sorts of issues people have and the right shoe makes all the difference.
    Great job on holding yourself accountable. To me tracking and not living in denial is a huge success!!! What seems like a small thing is actually a huge turning point. It’s not in the complete avoidance of the ‘bad’ stuff, but what you do with it. Amazing job and you should be proud!

  2. Yay for going down a pound! Nice! I would have also eaten all the Ritz crackers. Once you get started it’s hard to stop, so it’s great that you only had 8.

    One strategy I use for the unknown when it comes to dinners, weddings, etc is that I guess what kinds of foods might be there – Wine or beer, wedding cake, appetizers, maybe steak or chicken, etc. I input all the stuff I think I might eat into MyFitnessPal beforehand and then create some goals for myself or work around it the rest of the day. I try to overestimate on purpose, and typically by the end of the night I actually end up eating less. 🙂

  3. You are doing great! 8 Ritz crackers and 11.000 steps! Way to go. You have the right attitude about the dinner tonight. When you are treating yourself well 95% of the time, 5% is a mere blip. Enjoy!

    Have you considered a stabilizing walking shoe? Or gel type insoles? Perhaps a bit more structure would help with alignment and keep your ankle happy. 🙂

    • If the pain continues, I’ll need to look into some of those options. It definitely feels better when I wear good shoes, even in the house. I do think I need some new outdoor tennis shoes (I have an indoor and outdoor pair), so that would also help.

Leave a Reply

