Mini Goals

My house has gotten away from me. I’m not keeping up on anything. The worse it gets, the more discouraged I get, and the less energy I have to do anything about it.

Don’t get me wrong. My house is not total filth. But I used to do fairly well at keeping it picked up and cleaned. Even the occasional scouring. For my personal standards, it has gotten out of control.

Until now.

A few days ago I decided to try mini goals. I printed a blank calendar for the month and filled in my first thing on Thursday: clean the bathroom. Okay, okay, I know this should be routine, but it hasn’t been  for me lately. So after work, getting kids to bed and exercising, I cleaned the bathroom. I immediately felt better for having gotten it done!

That night, I wrote down what I wanted to accomplish Friday night: sweep and vacuum the main floor, and wash the bathroom floor. Done!

I decided what I wanted to complete today, Saturday. I gave myself a choice. I could either vacuum the steps, or wash the rugs and floor in our mud room. I despise both tasks. I chose to wash the rugs and floor. The floor is now washed and rugs are in the washer!

Tomorrow we’re going to a retirement party for my dad, so my only goal is to repot the plant I got from my grandma, who has recently moved to assisted living.

I have also written out when I need to do my wii workouts, and it’s helping so far.

I know some of this might seem really silly. At one point in my life, it would have seemed silly to me too. But with how crazy life has gotten, I’m finding I need to plan this stuff out. Not too far in advance though. Just one day ahead so I still have flexibility on what needs to be done. Basic stuff like dishes is a daily thing, but none of the extras were getting done.

Once I’m caught up on some basic cleaning, I’ll be working on spring cleaning, even though it’s now summer. 🙂 And some extra projects like finishing baby books.

I really hope I can keep this up. It feels good already, and I’m excited to see what my house can look like with a bit of effort. I definitely feel better when my house is kept up.

* Disclaimer: Yes, I know I can’t focus on the house over the kids. I’m not, which is how it’s gotten so bad!

10 thoughts on “Mini Goals

  1. Pingback: I’m on the upswing! | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  2. Pingback: A few updates, and some BIG GOALS! | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

    • Thanks Leanne! I already need to clean the bathroom again, but it won’t take long if I keep up on it. So why do I let it go? This process is working, and it’s also helping me to get more steps, so I hope it helps with the weight loss too. 🙂

  3. This is a fab idea! I often think I should do it but I don’t! Perhaps I will start. I like to have a week planned rather than days at a time but printing a blank calendar sounds like a fab idea!

    Trying to run a craft business (which makes heck of a mess!!) care for my 1 year old and lose weight and improve fitness does mean I end up neglecting my house too!

    Perhaps I need an hourly schedule instead of thinking “right she’s napping….what should I do now” for 20 minutes!

    I may well follow your lead! 🙂

    • If you try it, I would love to hear how it works for you. I tend to nap when my son does, but today I decided to wash the floor and get it done for the day. I definitely feel better when I don’t nap and am productive instead.

      I used to think weekly or monthly plans worked better for me, but I guess taking it day by day might be better for now.

      • Yep, definitely trying it. In fact, what I’ve done is said that if my husband makes up and prints out an empty chart for me, split into 7 days, and 3 sections per day – I’ll have 1 section for exercise, 1 for a business task, and 1 for house work and I’m going to let hubby pick the housework task! :-O

        A messy house really frustrates him. And frankly he does much more cleaning than me, and I think it probably bugs him, so I thought it might be a nice way of doing my bit and showing my appreciation of him at the same time 🙂

        He’s going to sort it on Monday for me 🙂

      • Fantastic idea! Love the teamwork!
        I do all the housework here, but really can’t complain because hubby does all the farm work. It gets a bit daunting, so I hope this new process helps. 🙂

  4. Your new system sounds great! With 3 small children, a job, a house and a husband, no wonder you have difficulty keeping up with it all. Sometimes you’re probably too tired to think straight. A schedule will eliminate the thinking about it when you’re so tired. And that’s brilliant!

    • Thanks Cyndi, I hope it works and I continue with this! Even with everything going on, I have more energy when I stay busy. Plus I sleep better. Work will be tough in the fall because I work LOTS of overtime, but I’ll figure that out when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

