I AM Making Progess

Finally! A sunny day and not a cloud in the sky! It’s still cold though…28° Fahrenheit when the kids and I left the house this morning. It’s supposed to hit 70 this weekend, so I am hopefully spring is (finally) on its way.

I am reminiscing today. Kody turns 2 tomorrow. I can hardly believe my sweet little boy is 2! I had rough pregnancies…no health concerns but I was extremely uncomfortable. I carried very low. I wish I had a picture handy to share. Each baby got lower and by the time I was pregnant with Kody, he was practically hanging out by my knees. Okay, so that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I carried low. Plus he was a big baby at just 2 ounces shy of 10 pounds. It was very painful to walk. I was so incredibly uncomfortable from about 4 months on! Needless to say, I was thrilled when he was born and ecstatic to put my child-bearing days behind me.

I have been struggling – again – the past week. The next week will also be tough with Kody’s birthday tomorrow, and Allison’s next Tuesday. Then we are done with birthdays until next year, so at least I won’t have that temptation to deal with.

Instead of letting myself get bogged down by my struggles, I am focusing on the positive things. I think it’s important that I keep the big picture in mind. I AM making progress. It’s easier to put on socks and shoes than it was 15-20 pounds ago. I AM making progress. Yes, I already said that, but I need to remember it.

Actually, I have made a lot of diet changes. I don’t buy many processed foods anymore and rarely cook pasta. I am eating more fruits and vegetables. I never ate much fast food, but I couldn’t tell you the last time I ate it. It’s that darn sugar that is my biggest weakness.

I AM making progress.

I have resisted counting Weight Watcher’s point, calories, carbs, etc. But I think it’s time I suck it up and just do it. I have success with both WW and counting calories. So I am going back to using my sparkpeople.com account where I can log my food for free. I will still eat as clean as possible, but it’s time to take the next step and be aware of how many calories I’m really consuming.

When I logged into sparkpeople yesterday, I noticed it had been a year since I recorded my weight. I am down 10 pounds (roughly, depending on the day) from this time last year. While it’s not nearly as much as I’d like it to be, I am happy I’m not heavier.

I AM making progress.

Thank you for sticking with me while I try to figure out what works best for me. Some of you are probably wondering when I’ll get into my groove and make some significant progress. Ha! I know I am wondering that exact thing! I know it is cliché, but this is exactly why so many people call this a weight loss journey.

Do you count points, calories, or something else? What works best for you?

10 thoughts on “I AM Making Progess

  1. That’s great to hear you are down from a year ago! You really are making progress. I’ve done WW before and found that they’re new system doesn’t work for me, so I’m personally happy to hear you’re calorie counting instead. 🙂 Even though I’m maintaining my weight I still continue to track my food. It really keeps me on track and only takes a few seconds a day because most of what I eat is saved to favorites. I use MyFitnessPal. It does calories, fat, etc… All nutrients, water, exercise and connects to my FitBit pedometer. Love all the data.

    • Ooh…I’ll check out MyFitnessPal! I’m hoping to get a fitbit pedometer very soon, and it would be nice to have all that stuff in one place.

      WW worked for me years ago, but I was also single back then. 🙂

  2. Hey! I’m on SparkPeople, too! I’ll have to find you over there. I don’t get on much because it won’t let me log in from my phone, but I check in every week or so. Ten pounds is definitely progress! If counting calories works for you, go for it! Eventually, you’ll instinctively know how much to eat without it. I got started with Weight Watchers, but couldn’t keep it up because it’s not ADD-friendly. Counting points and tracking all that mess takes a significant amount of focus and energy. I think Paleo is definitely a good idea.

    Right now, I’m studying the mind-body-spirit connection. Our thoughts and feelings cause real, measurable physiological changes in our bodies at the cellular level that powerfully affect our eating habits. What I’m learning is that our willpower doesn’t have a chance against our biochemistry, but our thoughts and feelings do. What I’m learning is blowing my mind. I’ll post about it as soon as I get my head fully wrapped around it.

    • I am definitely curious about the mind-body-spirit connection! I do know from personal experience that when I’m in a better place emotionally, I eat better, so perhaps it’s all related somehow.

      I don’t participate in any of the boards or anything on sparkpeople, at least I haven’t yet. I think my user name is cascade312T if you want to look me up.

      • I should spend some time to check out the other free sites, but I don’t have much extra time for that. So I’ll muddle through with SP for now. I’ll see if I can figure out where to find you. 🙂

  3. You are doing great! 10 pounds is definitely significant. Try picking up a 10 lb bag of potatoes to remind yourself of how far you’ve come. You should be very proud of your accomplishments.

    No counting calories here either but I burn loads off at work. I focus on getting enough plant protein and fresh veggies and fruits. Oh, and coffee. That’s non-negotiable. If food journaling works for you, go for it. The road to optimal health is a journey indeed.

    Happy birthday to Kody tomorrow!

    • Some days I wish I didn’t have a desk job, but I do and that’s not likely to change. Instead, I need to work on being more active outside of work.
      I agree on the coffee! I’ve tried to give it up a few times, then decided I was being silly and have concluded it will always be part of my diet (although it wouldn’t hurt to cut back a bit).

  4. You ARE making progress and understanding your own needs better as well. That’s a great thing!!

    I don’t count calories, since I almost always eat paleo. I found that increasing the healthy fats, which are higher in calories, actually improved weight loss.

    • I hope that one day I won’t need to count anything, but am realizing I have to for now until I hit my goal weight…then hope I’ve established great habits so I maintain the loss. But one step at a time, right?

Leave a Reply

