Impromptu Mini Sugar Strike

I have just made a spontaneous decision. (Spontaneity is not something I’m known for.) Starting today, I am doing a mini sugar strike.

What is a sugar strike?

For me, a sugar strike is giving up all the obvious sugars (except in my coffee…I haven’t found an acceptable substitute within our budget), breads, pastas, chips, crackers, etc. I don’t eat a lot of those foods anymore, at least not compared to  a year ago. But I do need to work on being more strict. I have a girls weekend planned next weekend, so this mini sugar strike will go from today through April 19.

What will my challenges be?

In order to succeed, I need to be realistic about the things that could possibly derail me. I will always have the challenge of Marcus bringing some junk into the house and cooking meals not compliant with my eating plan. When this happens, I need to stay strong and resist. I can whip up a frittata or omelet of sorts. Easy peasy.

My biggest challenge that I foresee will be this Saturday. I have a baby shower to go to. I have been to a number of showers hosted by these same women, so have an idea of what to expect. It’s a morning shower, so they will likely have egg bake. This, for the most part, should be okay. They might have a fruit salad and mixed nuts, which might be okay, although the nuts could be salted which isn’t good. Punch and dessert I absolutely have to politely decline. If they have a store-bought cake, I know it won’t taste all that great anyway, so I will need to remember that.

The most important obstacle, as always, will be mental. I know I can do this. I’ve done it before. I need to stay strong and remind myself I will have more energy if I stick to my plan.

It’s only nine days. I CAN do this!

9 thoughts on “Impromptu Mini Sugar Strike

  1. Pingback: My Secret | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  2. Pingback: I won the first battle! | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  3. You can do this! Looking forward to hearing about your successes with the baby shower. You inspire me with the sugar strike. I don’t believe I have that kind of strength, but it is strengthening to see what you’re doing.

    • Thank you, you are very sweet. I am majorly addicted to sugar. I wish I could have a little here and there, but I really can’t. It triggers something in my brain and I end up eating anything and everything. Not good when you’re trying to lose weight!! Plus I know that once it’s out of my system, those cravings totally disappear. So it’s better for me to not have it at all. I am determined to do well at the baby shower!!

  4. You CAN do this! Preparing your mental state to sidestep the offending foods is your best defence. Second line of defence? Tell yourself it will taste like crap (even if you know better) and then compliment yourself on being strong enough to resist something you didn’t want anyway. If there is something you just don’t want to go without, why not ask for a small bit to take home then pop it in the freezer for another time. Congrats on being spontaneous! Sometimes a sneak-attack is the best.

Leave a Reply

