Morning Exercise

alarmI found this image yesterday, and it stuck with me for the rest of the day. While I would much rather stay in my comfy bed, I am starting to realize that getting up in the morning is probably the most consistently available time I have to exercise.

I am pleased to report I got up this morning! That’s two days so far this week! Of course, if I miss a morning, I will still do it later in the day.

When I first lost weight 10 or 11 years ago (has it really been that long??), I would drag my butt out of bed and go to the gym for probably half of my workouts. It was hard to do, but I never regretted getting up to exercise. The gym was only a mile or two from my apartment,  I wasn’t married and didn’t have kids so I really only needed to take care of myself. It was a great way to jumpstart my day. And it helped me to lose 43 lbs…and keep it off.

My routine needed to change some after getting married. Because I had a long commute to work, I found it easier to exercise right when I got home. Then I would make supper and go about my evening. Then I started having babies, and basically all hell broke loose! My schedule was completely knocked upside down. I was emotionally and physically exhausted. I still am a lot of days! LOL But at least now the kids are on a schedule and, most importantly, sleep through the night.

Because days with the kids can be crazy and exhausting, and I know early morning is a quiet time in the house, I need to make more of an effort to use it to my advantage. My body, mind and soul will thank me for it.

To help prepare myself for this, I aim to be in bed by 8:30. I need to be up by 4 or 4:30 to have enough time to exercise, plus I definitely feel better when I get more sleep. And who doesn’t like feeling better? I used to joke around that sleep is overrated, but I am learning it’s one of the most important things you can do for yourself.

Are you a fan of morning exercise? When do you prefer to workout?

9 thoughts on “Morning Exercise

  1. Pingback: Is It Even Possible? | A Mom Inspired

  2. You go girl! I could never do that. 5am is way to early for me. My sweet spot is between 3-5pm, depending on if I have after-school meetings. I have to get ready for work at 6, so no early morning workouts for me. I love your motivation! Morning workouts are supposed to be the best because it energizes you for the rest of the day and also gets it out of the way.

  3. I used to be a 9:00PM bedtime and 5:00AM awake time girl when I was working and hands on mothering. And that was the way I fit my exercise time in. As a result, I felt great mentally, emotionally and physically! It worked well for me. Just remember to take it one day at a time.

    Congratulations on your 2 early morning workouts this week!!

  4. Teresa, you are very inspiring. Up at 4 or 4:30? I thought I was an early riser but YOU take the (rice)cake! Good job! Sleep is seriously underrated. It is a very important part of being healthy. Great image/quote.

    • The extremely early time is part of what has been holding me back. It’s dang early! And it’s tough to get to bed early enough since there are always dishes or other basic household items to get done. But I will persevere! It will help if I (re)learn to use my time more wisely.

Leave a Reply

