Still here…

…and doing my thing. Which always seems to be on track, then off track, back on, then back off.

Despite the ups and downs, I still feel like I’m making progress towards a healthier future. Slowly…

Pretty much since my birthday last week, I’ve had a bit of a stomach bug and a cold. Nothing severe, but enough to wear me down and want to eat comfort food. I didn’t really eat too bad, but admittedly not the greatest either. I’ve been really tired and haven’t exercised. No matter how I feel tomorrow, I will be back on track with clean eating and exercise.

We’re expecting yet another winter storm here in Minnesota. This time there are blizzard warnings for tomorrow. Five years ago while I was pregnant with Allison, I was caught driving in a blizzard, and ended up staying overnight in a small town about 20 miles from home. It was one of the most terrifying experiences of my life (the driving part) and since then, I am a big baby when it comes to driving in any undesirable elements. I will most likely be working at home tomorrow – again. But I’ll see what things look like in the morning before I make a decision.

I am so anxious to see some results. I know I need to step things up quite a bit. I need to be on track more than I have been.

As much as I don’t want to do it, I’m thinking about making myself get up in the morning to exercise. Then it’s done for the day and I don’t have to worry about being too tired or too busy in the evening. Problem is I already need to be up by 5am some mornings, which is already a major challenge for me. But it would also help start the day off on the right track.

Oh, I just remembered! Marcus isn’t exactly on the ball with birthday gifts. I’ve learned not to get upset about it. It’s just not worth it. So tonight he and the kids ordered a few things for me. I’ll be getting a hot air popper, which I’m excited about! I’m going to try popping popcorn and drizzling melted coconut oil over the top.

I’m also getting a NutriBullet! I am very excited about this! I love my smoothies, but it’s not always the easiest in my blender. I think this will give me more options. Fruits and vegetables will blend easier and I’m hoping cleanup is easy. The blender isn’t too bad, but it’s large and not always clean when I want to use it.

That’s all for now…I’m tired again so going to try to hit the hay a bit early. Hopefully I’ll wake up refreshed and ready to go tomorrow. With a fresh layer of snow blowing around… :-/

8 thoughts on “Still here…

    • Exactly, which is why I’m not beating myself up as long as I’m making some progress. Life will be full of roller coasters, it’s all in how we take the ride. I plan to enjoy it!

  1. I fear winter driving too Teresa. I love living in town now, especially with that storm moving in. I hope you feel better soon.

    • That is a nice benefit of being in town, one that I miss at times. But I also love the quiet, more private atmosphere in the country. Especially during a blizzard when everyone is home, safe.

  2. Taking it slowly is often the best way to create the lifestyle changes that stick. Your gifts sound wonderful! I use a Bullet for my Smoothees and it whizzes up frozen fruit to perfection. Much easier to clean than a bulky blender too.

    • Even though slow gets discouraging, I do think it’s a better way as far as making changes that stick. And ultimately that’s what I want. I do think, however, that once I’m really in my groove, the weight loss will pick up for a bit. If not, that’s okay too. I’ll get there. 🙂

  3. When my daughter was small and I had a major career, I found my best exercise time was at the crack of dawn (or It didn’t happen). I really liked that time to myself before anyone else was stirring. I hope it works well for you, too. Oh, and your birthday gifts sound perfect! A new and revitalized Teresa is well on her way!!

    • Before I was married and had kids, I drug myself out of bed some days to go to the gym. It was really nice to get it out of the way. If I’m ever up early now, I do really enjoy that quiet time. I really hope I can make it a habit…which will also require a habit of going to bed earlier.

Leave a Reply

