Birthday Recap

Too many sweets and carbs! Oh my!

My birthday was yesterday. It was also a busy night with kid activities, so we got Papa Murphy’s pizza for supper. And instead of a cake and ice cream, I opted for birthday brownies and homemade vanilla ice cream. Everything was delicious, but…

The pizza left me dehydrated. I drank probably 30 extra ounces of water last night and barely used the bathroom! I’m learning I don’t care for that kind of thirsty feeling. Perhaps I will think twice before consuming pizza again. Or start by filling up with a nice green salad, before I touch the pizza.

The brownies and ice cream gave me a belly ache. And if I’m being honest with myself, I actually felt a bit nauseous. I didn’t sleep well last night. At all. I’m a bit very tired today. Partly from not being well rested, but also because my energy level is down.

I definitely didn’t eat as much as I would have in the past. But my body really isn’t used to all the carbs and sugar! It was rebelling and still is.

My tastes are definitely changing. Today I find I’m craving a piece of fresh fruit and a crisp green salad. Or a smoothie, which to me is the best of both worlds. Totally healthy but is also a treat.

I am losing the desire to eat unhealthy. It may have been good for the few moments I was consuming it, but for many hours after, I do not feel good. I have a feeling the times I do this will become fewer and further between.

That was enough abuse on my body. Time to get back on track!

11 thoughts on “Birthday Recap

  1. Happy birthday! Again! Seems like I missed your actual birthday but was able to say happy bday before and after. lol
    Oh pizza… So good and SO dehydrating. It’s amazing because there’s no other food I can think of that dehydrates me so much.

  2. I have a saying…Nothing tastes as great as healthy nutrition looks…and feels!! We need to start a new tradition for a birthday treat. Something special, but not sugary or processed. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

