Sugar Strike Day 1

My sugar strike begins! I’m feeling optimistic today. I stepped on the scale this morning and it wasn’t as high as I was expecting it to be. I know from past experiences that I tend to lose a few pounds fairly quickly after cleaning up my act, so I’m hoping I can still pull the month off with a loss.

Here’s what I ate today.

Breakfast
Organic oatmeal

Lunch
Romaine lettuce salad with ranch dressing* and 2 boiled eggs
Greek yogurt **

Snack
Apple

Supper
Chicken soup

* For now I am allowing bottled salad dressings. At some point I will try some homemade dressings. Baby steps.

** I’m undecided on how I want yogurt to fit into my diet. For now, I will allow it. Eventually I think I will need to limit how often I eat it, if at all.

The chicken soup is quite disappointing. I cooked and deboned the chicken yesterday but didn’t have time to finish the rest, so I finished it tonight after work. Our extra fridge has been set really cold for some reason, so my celery and carrots were frozen solid! I used the carrots anyway, but the celery is a no go. My potatoes were also partially frozen. I put them in the soup anyway, but most are soggy.

My feet ached when I got out of bed this morning. It wasn’t as bad as it’s been, and never lasts real long, but I’ll be glad when it goes away.

Mood: Meh
Energy: Meh

2 thoughts on “Sugar Strike Day 1

Leave a Reply

