Sugar Strike Starts Tomorrow!

I can’t wait to get started. I have been eating TERRIBLE and my body is telling me so.

I’ve noticed when I don’t eat well, my feet ache when I first get out of bed. I think this is inflammation related to sugar and/or wheat. I know this goes away when I avoid sugar and limit wheat. Although I’ve been getting enough sleep, my energy levels are low. Overall, I don’t feel very healthy.

I haven’t exercised in almost a week. I will do it today and get that back on track.

During my 2-week sugar strike, I will document what I’m eating and how I’m feeling. My diet will not be perfect. But that’s okay with me. Eventually I would like to be eating clean the majority of the time. For now, I’m working on getting rid of the obvious sugar, bread and pasta. Luckily I don’t eat much pasta anymore, but I want to make sure I don’t eat it during this time.

I’ll make a big pot of chicken soup today. That will definitely help me get through this coming week!

7 thoughts on “Sugar Strike Starts Tomorrow!

  1. This was in an article I read this morning…definitely timely:
    By Dr. Mercola
    Lie # 4: ‘Your Body Cannot Tell the Difference Between Sugar and Fructose’
    Of the many health-harming ingredients listed in the featured article by Shape Magazine—all of which you’re bound to get in excess if you consume processed foods—fructose is perhaps the greatest threat to your health. Mounting evidence testifies to the fact that excess fructose, primarily in the form of high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), is a primary factor causing not just obesity, but also chronic and lethal disease. In fact, I am convinced that fructose is one of the leading causes of a great deal of needless suffering from poor health and premature death.
    Many conventional health “experts,” contend that sugar and fructose in moderation is perfectly okay and part of a normal “healthy” diet, and the corn industry vehemently denies any evidence showing that fructose is metabolically more harmful than regular sugar (sucrose). This widespread denial and sweeping the evidence under the carpet poses a massive threat to your health, unless you do your own research.
    As a standard recommendation, I advise keeping your total fructose consumption below 25 grams per day. For most people it would also be wise to limit your fructose from fruit to 15 grams or less. Unfortunately, while this is theoretically possible, precious few people are actually doing that.
    Cutting out a few desserts will not make a big difference if you’re still eating a “standard American diet”—in fact, I’ve previously written about how various foods and beverages contain far more sugar than a glazed doughnut. Because of the prevalence of HFCS in foods and beverages, the average person now consumes 1/3 of a pound of sugar EVERY DAY, which is five ounces or 150 grams, half of which is fructose.
    That’s 300 percent more than the amount that will trigger biochemical havoc. Remember that is the AVERAGE; many actually consume more than twice that amount. For more details about the health dangers of fructose and my recommendations, please see my recent article Confirmed—Fructose Can Increase Your Hunger and Lead to Overeating.

      • “…and share with those who I think can handle it.”
        I know exactly what you mean. Mainstream food products (and restaurants) have taste and profit goals that seem to override health concerns. Thinking they are being healthy, everyone eats those food products…and then they feel lousy and gain weight. I think it takes a major re-education. Unfortunately, many people are too weary to even hear the information until they turn a corner and begin losing weight.

        For the past year, I have been helping people lose weight and inches with a natural-sourced supplement that has been really successful. These are people who had been unable to sustain weight-loss before getting a jump-start with ACE. After they begin feeling better about themselves, they are really excited to hear more about food choices and exercise possibilities. Their personal transformations always touch my heart. I have posted a few before/after photos…and lots of encouragement at Healthy ACE on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HealthyACE

        (It is a different page from Healthy A-Z, since Healthy ACE simply has the purpose of encouraging healthy weight-loss.)

  2. Great motivation! I look forward to seeing how it goes. Maybe one day I’ll feel motivated to eat less sugar. I have an unhealthy addiction to it for sure. When I eat terribly, my body responds with massive bloat and acid reflux.

Leave a Reply

