Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup

I’m feeling better and more in control of my diet today. I haven’t eaten perfect by any means, but am working on saying no to the ice cream Marcus bought. I’m happy to say I’m doing better. When the temptation becomes too strong, I make a smoothie instead. The chocolate peanut butter smoothie I make tastes a lot like chocolate ice cream. It usually has the same consistency and I know it’s a much healthier option. The kids all like it too…even Cameron who doesn’t care for bananas finally tried it and admitted it was good.

It also helps that when I stepped on the scale this morning, it was down a pound. That was the pleasant surprise I needed to help me stay on track.

I haven’t eaten a single Girl Scout cookie yet either! It helps that I won’t let the family dig into them until we’re basically done selling. Then we can see what we have left and what we’re willing to purchase.

The split pea soup I’ve been eating all week has grown on me. I think I will make it again! I did find I needed to add a little salt to each bowl. I think I will keep the recipe the same though, and just add it as needed when serving.

The recipe originally came from my mom, although I have altered it some over the years. This time I omitted the ham (simply because i didn’t have any) and swapped the white potatoes for sweet potatoes.

DSC03940

Sweet Potato Split Pea Soup

1 lb dried peas
1 onion, diced
4 stalks celery, chopped
1 lb carrots, chopped into bite-size pieces
2 cloves garlic
4 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into bite-size pieces
1 tsp celery salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp salt
1-2 tsp pepper

Rinse peas and put them in a 6 quart stock pot. Cover with water and soak the peas overnight. They will expand so be sure to use enough water.

Add water to fill pot about half full. Cook over medium heat until peas start to soften, about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

Lower heat. Add vegetables and seasonings. Simmer for about another hour, stirring frequently, until vegetables are cooked to your liking.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

