It’s time to get mad!

I don’t know what my problem is. I’ve been struggling to get (and keep) my diet on track. I need to push myself exercise-wise. I need to get so mad at myself that not doing well isn’t an option.

My reasoning behind this comes from The Biggest Loser. I know there are cons to the show, but I don’t want to debate that right now. For the most part, I think the show is incredibly inspiring and I enjoy watching it every week. One thing I’ve picked up on this season is how the trainers want the contestants to get mad. Get so mad that they beat on the punching bag, run faster, and do whatever it takes to get the anger out.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot. I am mad at myself for letting myself go. I am mad that I gained all the weight (plus a bunch more) that I worked so hard to lose. I am mad that I can no longer walk on the treadmill at a pace of 4.5 mph. I am mad that I am a far cry from fitting into those size 12 pants that felt so good to put on.

I need to start pushing myself out of my comfort zone. I need to get back to taking the stairs at work. I need to exercise harder. I need to exercise longer. I need to get outside for a walk when I can, even if it’s cold out.

Life has gotten in the way over the past 8 years. But I don’t need to let it get in the way anymore. I CAN do this. I can do anything if I really want to.

I want this. It’s time to get serious. It’s time to get mad.

11 thoughts on “It’s time to get mad!

  1. Sometimes you just need the fire to fuel instead of the other way around. I love the way Jillian yells at people. I imagine her getting pissed of at me when I’m not working hard enough in exercise. But yeah, being mad for all the things in life that have kept you from what you really want is great to give you that boost of motivation.

  2. Well, you know the saying “Fueled by anger”… One part of it is that anger is a very primitive feeling that comes from deep down, cancelling out other, more superficial feelings. Anger, along with fear, are feelings meant to protect you, activate you. And really, it sure is effective to go running when you are pissed off 😉

  3. I think the purpose of the getting mad part may be to find what is deep down inside of you that is holding you back from being the best you can be and to let the anger fuel the understanding. Having you beat yourself p makes me cringe…but maybe that’s my issue. Be nice to my friend, Teresa! xoxo

Leave a Reply

