Ups & Downs, & Healthy Meatloaf

The past few days have been full of ups and downs. I’ve had some things going on that I can’t talk about on here quite yet. It’s had me excited one minute and feeling defeated the next. When I’m down in the dumps I make much worse food choices. But things are looking up again, so my diet is better too.

After my wii Biggest Loser workout last night, I decided to get on my treadmill for a little bit. Now I remember one of the reasons I stopped using it. It’ll be running just fine, then will abruptly stop! That isn’t safe, so I think I need to get it serviced before I use it again.

Thanks to Cyndi over at Healthy A-Z, I tried a new recipe the other night. My adaptation is below. The original meatmuffin recipe came from here. I made this when the kids weren’t around so they wouldn’t know there were veggies in it. Cameron, who loves meat, gobbled it right up! Allison and Kody won’t eat much meat, so Kody wouldn’t touch it and Allison finally ate a couple bites of it.

DSC03916

Healthy Meatloaf

1 lb ground pork
2 lbs ground beef
1 zucchini squash
1 big onion
1 egg
1 tsp garlic powder
4 Tbsp whole wheat flour *
salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste

* The original recipe calls for almond meal, which I was anxious to try. But because of it’s pricetag, which I blogged about here, I needed to make a substitute.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Peel the zucchini, dice it and put in a food processor with the onion. Process until you have really fine crumbles, or more of a puree like I ended up with. Mix all of the ingredients. Press into a large loaf pan. Bake for approximately 1 hour 15 minutes.

I like the crispier pieces on the end, so next time I will make this as meatballs. I will probably also make it on a broiling pan so all the juices (there is a lot of water in the veggies) can drip off and keep the meat from being quite so juicy.

I’m off to get ready for Date Night! Looking forward to a rare night out!

4 thoughts on “Ups & Downs, & Healthy Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

