Slipping Up & German Apple Pancake

I started yesterday out well, and was excited to clean up one of my old favorite recipes. I’ll post it below. Last night I didn’t do nearly as well. Grr. But I don’t expect to be perfect. Progress, not perfection, right??

I’m bound to slip up from time to time. The key is to get back on track right away. I’m not going to let one meal or one evening derail me! And I’m already feeling better after just a few days of cleaning up my act. I definitely have more energy!

I don’t recall when this recipe came into my family, but it has become a favorite of mine. I don’t make it real often, but might make it more often now that I’m made a healthier version of this German Apple Pancake. I need to find a way to incorporate some of my favorites so that I don’t feel deprived. The original recipe calls for butter, white flour and sugar. I have omitted the sugar (I suppose I could use something like Splenda instead) and made substitutes for the other items.

DSC03904

German Apple Pancake

2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 large apple
t tsp. cinnamon (or less if you prefer)
2 eggs
1/2 cup whole wheat flour*
1/2 cup milk (I imagine coconut milk or almond milk would also work)
dash of salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt coconut oil in pie plate in oven while preheating. Cut apple into bite-size chunk and arrange in the bottom of pan. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Beat eggs, flour, milk and salt in small mixing bowl. Pour batter over apple slices. Place in center of preheated oven and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Invert pan onto plate and serve with honey or pure maple syrup.

*At the time of this posting, I have not tried other flours, such as coconut flour or almond flour. I am guessing these would also work well.

I think this would also taste good with other fruits. I’m kind of anxious to try it with a variety of berries.

Have a healthy, happy Sunday!

8 thoughts on “Slipping Up & German Apple Pancake

  1. Pingback: White Chili | A Clean Life: Body, Mind & Soul

  2. Trying to incorporate a few old favorites with a healthy update is a great way to make the process of incorporating a healthy eating regime more comfortable. No, other flours won’t taste the same as white flour will but the benefits you reap will be worth the change to your tastebuds. It’s not bad, just different. I would suggest possibly a combo of glutinous rice flour (yes, it’s gluten-free, just stickier than regular rice flour) and coconut flour. Perhaps quinoa flour (that’s my fave). There are also some wheat-free/gluten-free all-purpose flours available. Skip the Splenda, though. You are better off with real sugar than chemical substitutes. Perhaps maple syrup or honey could be added if you need a bit of sweetness. It is great that you are keeping your eyes on the prize. When you want something bad enough, you can make it happen!

    • This was definitely more “wheat” tasting and not as puffy, but my tastes are changing and it was still quite good.
      Thanks for the flour suggestions, I will keep them in mind as I experiment a bit more.
      I do find I need a little sweetness with this. Perhaps a little more fruit or less flour?

  3. Yes, almond and coconut flour both work well. One thing to know though, coconut flour is super dense, so you wouldn’t use 1/2 cup in this recipe. It’d honestly be more like 2-4 Tbsp. Almond flour would be about the same though.

Leave a Reply

