Tomorrow is Day One!

I start my 1000 Day Journey tomorrow. Ack!

Am I ready? Yes… No… That’s right, I answered both Yes and No.

I am ready to make the changes I need to make to feel better, inside and out. I’m not too excited about the times that will get tough, but that’s part of the process. Those times will be empowering and will make me stronger and more able to reach my goals. Bring it on!

Tomorrow is also our final Christmas celebration, so I imagine eating healthy will be tough. Because this journey is about making steady changes, I am not going to beat myself up over one more day of possibly unhealthy eating. Instead, I am going to focus on drinking enough water, exercising, and enj0ying the day. I will be sure to report my results of the day.

I almost forgot! I received the free coconut oil that I won! Now that I have it, I’m not sure what to do with it. I thought I knew, but now I seem to be lost. I guess I’ll start by sauteing some vegetables in it instead of butter or olive oil. To help me think of things to try, what is your favorite use for coconut oil?

10 thoughts on “Tomorrow is Day One!

  1. I like to make granola with it, use it for frying, and if you add a bit to melted chocolate chips, you have hard shell ice cream sauce that you can store in the cupboard – just melt in microwave before pouring it over ice cream.

  2. Hooray! I am so happy for you that it is almost kick-off time, so to speak. Things are about to change for the better! Stay positive, even when you just want to stick a straw in the wine bottle and eat a whole bag of chips. You know the trade off is so worth it. I will be back on gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy free again starting tomorrow so remember that you have company.

    Coconut oil is so versatile. I love to use it as a moisturizer (although my kids say it smells weird). Definitely sautee with it, and use it instead of butter/margarine when baking. There are two great recipe links on my pinterest Eat Clean! board for macaroons using coconut oil that are amazing if you are looking for a couple of guilt-free dessert recipes.

    One day at a time, Teresa. You can do it!

    • The macaroons sound great! I’m not sure I trust myself with any desserts quite yet…perhaps once I make a little progress, or for the upcoming birthdays instead of cake. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. I have been using coconut oil in almost everything. My favorite is to roast all kinds of different vegetables. I rubbed the Christmas turkey with coconut oil (inside and out and under the skin, too), and it was moist and yummy…and it browned really nicely.

    For your last holiday celebration/dinner, I suggestion you just try to enjoy the tastes and forget “healthy/unhealthy.” There’s plenty of time to focus on making healthy choices afterward.

Leave a Reply

